

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Board Meeting Agenda May 7, 2024– 5:00 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 6. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 7. Approval of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for November 2024 Election
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 10. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes May 7, 2024 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the 2nd Floor Board Room on Tuesday, May 7, 2024, at **5:00** p.m., Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr. presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr., Vice Chair Catherine Jourdan, Secretary Chad Doomy, Member Alfred Harvey, Member Adam Draper

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla, Tricia Starkey, Jay Lerman, Carma Buchanan, Adam Clark

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Robert L. Durrah, Jr. led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chair Robert L. Durrah, Jr. led a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairperson Robert L. Durrah, Jr. called for public comments, providing two minutes per speaker:

Jim Norris: 2021 Heidelbury Drive, Winston-Salem, NC 27106

Perla Fuller: 248 Royce Drive, Winston-Salem, NC 27107

Secretary Doomy moved to close public comments; Member Harvey seconded. **Motion** carried unanimously.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Secretary Doomy presented the meeting minutes for the March 4, 2024 and March 15, 2024 Canvass meetings. Member Draper moved to approve the minutes as presented; Member Harvey seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla presented to the Board a total of 68 absentee ballots for approval, of which 65 are civilian ballots, two are military, and one is overseas; and a total of 2 absentee ballots for disapproval. Secretary Doomy moved to approve the 68 absentee ballots and to disapprove 2 absentee ballots; Member Draper seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Board Members signed Zero Reports for the DS850 high-speed scanner.

Board Members signed absentee voter reports for the approved and disapproved ballots.

Two ballots did not scan in the high-speed central counter due to tears and folds: both ballots were marked spoiled; the board members duplicated the two ballots that were spoiled and those were scanned through the high-speed central counter.

Discussion of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for November 2024 Election

Carma Buchanan, Polling Place Coordinator, and Michelle Bobadilla, Deputy Director, presented to the Board the One-Stop Early Voting plan for the 2024 General Election. The sites discussed were: United Metropolitan Missionary Baptist Church in-lieu of Forsyth county Government Center, Brown & Douglas Community Center, Clemmons Branch Library, Lewisville Branch Library, Southside Branch Library, Sprague Street Recreation Center, Paddison Memorial (Kernersville) Branch Library, Kernersville Fire Station #42, Mazie Woodruff Center, Old town Recreation Center, Polo Park Community Center, Winston Salem State University – Anderson Center, Miller Park Recreation Center, Rural Hall Branch Library, Walkertown Branch Library, Winston Lake Family YMCA, and Harper Hill Commons with a contingency plan for Little Creek Recreation Center if needed. Specific dates and times proposed are as follows: Thursday, October 17, 2024 through Friday, October 18, 2024 from 8:00 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, October 19, 2024 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Sunday, October 20, 2024 from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Monday, October 26, 2024 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Sunday, October 27, 2024 from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Monday,

October 28, 2024 through Friday, November 1, 2024 from 8:00 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.; and Saturday, November 2, 2024 from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Member Draper moved to approve the One-Stop Early Voting plan as presented; Member Harvey seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Director Tim Tsujii stated that the official early voting schedule for the fall would not be made public until August 2024 to allow for consistency and clarity of all locations and contingencies.

Other Business

Resolution for Election Systems & Software, LLC (ES&S) Ballot-On-Demand Printer Systems for use by the Forsyth County Board of Elections.

Director Tsujii presented to the Board a resolution recommending the execution of a contract for Election Systems & Software, LLC (ES&S) ballot-on-demand printer system for use by the Forsyth County Board of Elections. The County Commissioners have approved funds to support this contact for the 2024 fiscal budget year. The contact was originally approved for the 2025 fiscal year, however, fund are available this budget year. Secretary doomed moved to accept the resolution for contract with ES&S for \$130,000 as submitted; Member Harvey seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

NC Elections Tour

Vice Chair Jourdan informed the public of the NC Elections Tour event to take place that night, May 7th, for those interested in attending.

Motion for Closed Session & Adjournment:

Chairperson Durrah requested a motion to go into closed session to consider the qualification, competence, performance, or condition of appointment of a public officer or prospective public officer or employee, pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(6), and to adjourn the meeting upon the adjournment of the closed session. Secretary Doomy moved to approve the motion as presented; Member Draper seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Closed Session

Board Members in attendance:

Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr., Vice Chair Catherine Jourdan, Secretary Chad Doomy, Member Alfred Harvey, Member Adam Draper

Staff Members in attendance: Tim Tsujii, Director of Elections

Adjournment of Closed Session

Secretary Doomy moved to adjourn; Member Draper seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.** Meeting adjourned at 6:02 p.m.

Adjournment of Meeting 6:02 p.m.

Forsyth County Board of Elections – Board Meeting May 7, 2024

Approved:
s:/Robert Durrah, Jr.
Chairperson
s:/Catherine Jourdan
Vice Chair
s:/Chad Doomy
Secretary
s:/Alfred Harvey
Member
s:/Adam Draper

Member